Skip to Quicklinks
Skip to Quicklinks

What's New

Biology Students and Faculty Participate in the Annual Meeting of the North Carolina Academy of Science (March 2012)

Research came to life at the 109th Annual Meeting of the North Carolina Academy of Science (NCAS). Five undergraduate students, one member of the staff, and five members of the faculty in the Biology Department participated in the meeting. Campbell University hosted the meeting from 23-25 March 2012, on its Buies Creek campus.

Environmental Science majors Zachary Barthel (upper photo) and Andrew Sutton (lower photo) Photo of Zach Barthelpresented research posters. Zach investigated the use of LIDAR (Light Detection and Ranging) imagery to predict successional stages of forests in Hoke County, North Carolina. His co-authors on the poster were Drs. Ryan Emanuel and Leon Jernigan, and undergraduate alumni Caleb Sutton and Doshie Smith. Andrew Sutton presented an analysis of the woody flora of Sampson's Landing in Robeson County. His co-authors on the poster were Dr. Lisa Kelly and undergraduate alumna Elizabeth Workman. Photo of Andrew Sutton

Zach and Andrew were joined at the meeting by their research mentors, Drs. Leon Jernigan and Lisa Kelly, respectively. Zach's work was supported by a National Science Foundation grant, and Andrew's work was supported by a grant from the Pembroke Undergraduate Research and Creativity Center's Undergraduate Scholar Assistantships (PURC USA) program. Dr. Kelly presented an oral presentation (co-authored by undergraduate alumna, Elizabeth Workman) on the vascular flora of Sampson's Landing.

Three students in the RISE Program (Jordan Smink, Austin Griffin, and Photo of Jordan Smink, Austin Griffin, and Armando CoronaArmando Corona; pictured from left to right) also attended the meeting, and they were joined by RISE Program Coordinator, Stephanie Presnal. UNCP Science clubs and organizations (e.g., Biology Club, TriBeta, RISE) are currently included in membership of the Collegiate Academy of the North Carolina Academy of Science (CANCAS) and are eligible to compete for Derieux Research Awards given during the annual meeting.

Also attending the meeting were UNCP biology faculty, Drs. Dennis McCracken, Maria Santisteban (Vice President of NCAS), and Patricia Sellers. Well over 300 people attended the meeting, which featured paper and poster presentations, a forum about hydraulic fracturing, Dr. Stuart Pimm (Doris Duke Professor of Conservation Ecology, Nicholas School of the Environment at Duke University) as the keynote speaker, and several workshops.

Photo of Drs. Marisol Santisteban and Dennis McCracken Photo of Dr. Patricia Sellers and Andrew Sutton Photo of Andrew Sutton and Zach Barthel at NCAS banquet

Photo of Dr. Leon Jernigan and Andrew Sutton Photo of Jordan Smink Photo of Dr. Dennis McCracken and Andrew Sutton

The 110th Annual Meeting of the NC Academy of Science is scheduled for 5-6 April 2013, and will be hosted by none other than the University of North Carolina at Pembroke. Dr. Santisteban is chairing the Local Arrangements Committee. UNCP is an Institutional Member of the NC Academy.

Photo of the NCAS poster for the 2013 annual meeting

Return to What's New

Updated: Thursday, May 3, 2012

Related Links
  • Coming Soon!

© The University of North Carolina at Pembroke
PO Box 1510 Pembroke, NC 28372-1510 • 910.521.6000