History of the
Founded in 1887 to educate American Indians, the University now serves a student body reflective of the rich cultural diversity of American society.†† As it stimulates interaction within and among its cultural groups, the University enables its students to become informed, principled, and tolerant citizens with a global perspective.
The university encourages the pursuit of education as a lifelong experience so that its graduates will be equipped to meet the challenges of the twenty-first century.† Drawing strength from† its heritage, The University of North Carolina at Pembroke continues to expand its leadership role in enriching the intellectual, economic, social, and cultural life of the region and beyond.
In support of this mission, The University of North Carolina at Pembroke is committed: (1.) to promote excellence in teaching and learning as a primary focus in an environment of free inquiry and dynamic exchange between students and faculty; (2.) to ensure quality academic programs and learning opportunities for the liberal arts, in preparation for diverse professions and for service to the region; (3.) to encourage and support meaningful faculty research and development; (4.) to recruit and retain students capable of achieving academic and professional success and of enriching the intellectual, cultural, and social community of the University; (5.) to provide and support extra‑curricular and student life activities and facilities designed to enrich the educational experience of residential and commuter students, enhance the image of the University, and serve the region; (6.) to provide ways by which the life of the region can benefit the educational experience of the University and be enhanced by the University; (7.) to instill in University of North Carolina at Pembroke students a continuing appreciation for diverse cultures and an active concern for the well‑being of others; (8.) to promote academic and scholarly excellence, the Universityís rich heritage, and the enhancement of the immediate and larger region.
HISTORY OF THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT PEMBROKE
On March 7, 1887 the General
Assembly of North Carolina enacted legislation sponsored by Representative
Hamilton McMillan of Robeson County creating the
The school was moved to its
present location in Pembroke, the center of the Indian community, in 1909. The
General Assembly changed the name of the institution in 1911 to the
Additional college classes were offered beginning in 1931, and in 1939 a fourth year was added with the first degrees conferred in 1940. In recognition of its new status, the General Assembly changed the name of the school in 1941 to Pembroke State College for Indians. Until 1953 it was the only state‑supported four‑year college for Indians in the nation. The scope of the institution was widened in 1942 when non‑teaching baccalaureate degrees were added, and in 1945 when enrollment, previously limited to the Indians of Robeson County, was opened to people from all federally‑recognized Indian groups. A few years later, in 1949, the General Assembly shortened the name to Pembroke State College.
The Board of Trustees approved
the admission of White students up to forty percent of the total enrollment in
1953 and, following the Supreme Courtís school desegregation decision, opened
the College to all qualified applicants without regard to race in 1954. Growth
of over five hundred percent followed during the next eight years. In 1969 the
General Assembly changed the name again to
Three years later, in 1972,
the General Assembly established the
In 2000, a major in applied
physics and four new master of arts programs were added. An office of
International Programs and a
The main entrance is on
Also on the north end of campus are the Walter J. Pinchbeck Maintenance Building (2004), named for a UNCP superintendent of buildings and grounds, which houses offices and garage facilities for university vehicles, and the Adolph L. Dial Humanities Building (1980), named for a professor of American Indian history, which houses the Departments of English, Theatre, and Languages; History; and Political Science and Public Administration as well as the University Writing Center, a computer lab, an oral language lab, a lecture theatre, the English Resource Center, and the office of the Indianhead yearbook. The English E. Jones Health and Physical Education Center (1972, 2005), named for a UNCP Chancellor, houses the Department of Health, Physical Education, and Recreation and has two gymnasiums, a natatorium with a swimming pool and diving tank, a wellness center, a physiology laboratory, and a small lecture hall.† The Givens Performing Arts Center (1975), named for UNCP Chancellor Paul R. Givens, houses the Theatre Arts program and provides an amphitheater‑style auditorium for an audience of 1700.†
In the center of campus, the Business Administration Building
(1969) houses the
Also centrally located are university facilities. In the James B. Chavis University Center (1987), named for a Vice Chancellor of Student Affairs, the lower level houses the Information Booth, cafeteria, snack bar, Post Office boxes, a bowling alley, TV/games areas, and student and faculty lounges; on the second floor are a Commuter Lounge, the Counseling and Testing Center, Career Services Center, Student Activities Office, and Student Government offices.†† The D. F. Lowry Building (1965), named after the first graduate of the Indian Normal School, contains the University Bookstore, Continuing Education and Distance Education, Upward Bound, Student Support Programs, Center for Adult Learners, Freshman Seminar, Disability Support Services, Police and Public Safety, and a study room.† Student Health Services (1967) has examination and treatment rooms and 22 inpatient beds. The Business Services Building (1977) receives deliveries and houses the Campus Post Office, the Print Shop, and the Office of Purchasing Services, as well as Receiving and Central Stores.† The Irwin Belk Track and Soccer Complex (2002) includes a stadium for soccer and track and field† and other athletic facilities.† The West Office Building (2001) houses the Office of International Programs; adjacent to it, in the Dogwood Office Building, are the Center for Sponsored Research and Programs and the Family Life Center.
The south of campus is a
quadrangle with a pond and amphitheater, a bell tower, and a gazebo.† Locklear
Hall (1950), named for
To the south of the
quadrangle, on NC 711, is the
Sampson-Livermore Library (1967, 1997), named after Oscar R. Sampson, a
Chair of the UNCP Board of Trustees, and Mary Livermore, a religion
professor.† The library houses
approximately 300,000 volumes, 1,500 periodical titles, the University
Archives, and a depository for
Most residence halls for students are located near the center of campus.† In addition to Pine Hall (2000), a coeducational dormitory, there are two womenís dormitories,† Mary Irwin Belk Hall †(1970) and North Hall (1972), and two menís dormitories: Wellons Hall (1965), named for university President Ralph D. Wellons; and West Hall (1965).† The University Village Apartments (2003) are at the north end of the campus.† The Chancellorís Residence (1952, 1999) is located on the southwestern edge of the campus.