Skip to Quicklinks
Skip to Quicklinks
Contact Information

Department of Chemistry and Physics
PO Box 1510
Pembroke, NC 28372

Phone: 910.521.6247

Location: Oxendine Science Building, Room 3101
Campus Map


2001 science fair (from fayetteville observer)

Thursday, March 22, 2001

Clark wins Science Fair with soil-saving project

By Venita Jenkins
Staff writer

PEMBROKE -- A project on soil erosion took top honors in this year’s Region IV Science Fair.

Franklin Clark, a freshman at Fayetteville Academy, spent three months investigating whether artificial grass buffers could decrease soil erosion and improve water quality.

Staff photo by Tracy Wilcox

Franklin Clark, center, of The Fayetteville Academy, celebrates with friends after winning the top prize in the regional science fair.

Clark received a plaque and a one-year scholarship to the University of North Carolina at Pembroke, where the regional fair was held Wednesday. His earth science project will go on to the state science fair in April at North Carolina A&T State University in Greensboro.

The first- and second-place winners in the biology, physical science, earth science, applied science and technology divisions in the high school and middle school levels will advance to the state competition. The top eight elementary school projects will also advance.


Clark used three man-made inclines for his experiment. Two of the inclines had artificial grass, at various widths, at the base. He used topsoil and water to demonstrate the effects of erosion. Clark spent nearly 100 hours on the project.

“He worked very hard on this,” said John Harbison, Clark’s earth science teacher. “He came up with some unusual results.”

Clark’s project showed that artificial buffers of various widths could control soil erosion.

Clark said he was pleased with the results.

“It has sparked my interest,” Clark said. “It’s something I may want to do as a career.”

The quality of projects has improved over the years, said Jose D’Arruda, chairman of the Department of Chemistry and Physics at UNCP. This year’s projects ranged from the effects of sleep on a teen-ager’s memory to the amount of energy stored in a peanut. More than 300 projects were entered in this year’s fair.

“I am really impressed with the visual effects of many of the projects,” D’Arruda said. “I have not seen any volcanoes this year.”

The main purpose of the fair is to expose students to science, D’Arruda said.

“There isn’t enough emphasis placed in the public schools on science because it is not one of the tested areas,” he said. “That’s a shame.”


The Region IV Science Fair was Wednesday at the University of North Carolina at Pembroke. Following is a list of winners from the Cape Fear region:

  • Biotechnology Award: Whitney Kinlaw of Dublin Elementary.

Elementary Division

  • (Top eight qualify for state competition): 1st -- Laura Spell, Fayetteville Academy; 2nd -- Theresa King, Lafayette Elementary; 3rd -- McKenzie Matthews, Angier Elementary; 5th Kelsey Blake -- E. Melvin Honeycutt Elementary; 6th -- David Kinlaw, Bladen Lakes Primary; 7th -- Ethan Lamaster, Bladen Lakes Primary; 8th -- Stevie Bunn, Elizabethtown Primary.
  • Other winners were: Nicole Evans, St. Pauls Elementary; Heather Hartley and Charlotte Tatum, Elizabethtown Elementary; Mical Moore, Booker T. Washington Elementary; Victor Onate, Oxendine Elementary; and Allison Holbert, Cape Fear Christian Academy.

Junior High Division

  • Biology: 1st -- Matt Williamson, Southeastern Academy; 2nd -- Bailey Shook, Flora McDonald Academy; 3rd -- Dwayne Beason II, John Griffin Middle; 4th -- Graham Strother and Greg Brigman, West Hoke Middle.
  • Physical Science: 1st -- David Settle, Hallsboro Middle; 2nd -- Caitlin Barnes, South View Middle; 3rd -- Paul Coppala, Hoke Middle; 4th -- Brett Young, Northwood Temple Academy.
  • Earth Science: 1st -- Elizabeth Godwin, Dunn Middle; 2nd -- Max Hartley, Clarkton School of Discovery; 3rd -- Heather Brewer, St. Pauls Middle; 4th -- Cameron Dowless, Clarkton School of Discovery.
  • Science and Technology: 1st -- Aaron Plarnick, John Griffin Middle; 2nd -- Jeremy Faircloth, Dunn Middle; Katrina Van Borkulo, Northwood Temple; 4th -- Zachary Crowford, West Hoke Middle.

Senior High Division

  • Biology: 1st -- Nathan Humphrey, Flora McDonald Academy; 2nd -- Pete Marozzi, Union Pines; 3rd -- Charlotte Johnson -- Purnell Swett; 4th -- Elizabeth Locklear, Red Springs.
  • Science and Technology: 1st -- Bryce Bordone, Fayetteville Academy; 2nd -- Brittany Estadt, Tar Heel; 3rd -- Jonathan Blue, Northwood Temple; 4th -- Jena Babson, Bladenboro.
  • Physical Science: 1st -- Noele Hester, Bladenboro; 2nd -- Christopher Henley, Fayetteville Academy; 3rd -- Jaimie Locklear, Red Springs; 4th -- Jennifer Davis, Bladenboro.
  • Earth Science: 1st -- Franklin Clark, Fayetteville Academy; 2nd -- Elizabeth Karri Locklear, Purnell Swett; 3rd -- Ben Burke, Flora McDonald; 4th -- James Sessoms, Tar Heel.

Staff writer Venita Jenkins can be reached at (910) 738-9158 or

Reprint from Fayetteville (N.C.) Observer-Times

Updated: Thursday, November 11, 2010

Return to Science Fair

Related Links
  • Coming soon!

© The University of North Carolina at Pembroke
PO Box 1510 Pembroke, NC 28372-1510 • 910.521.6000