Skip to Quicklinks
Skip to Quicklinks
Contact Information

English, Theatre & Foreign Languages
PO Box 1510
Pembroke, NC 28372

Phone: 910.521.6246
Fax:
910.775.4092
Relay:
910.521.6246
Email:
Click here

Location: Dial Humanities Building, Suite 104
Campus Map
Dial Building Map

 

faculty and staff

English | Theatre | Foreign Languages

Staff


CHAIRPERSON  
   
Virginia K. McClanahan, Professor and Chair; Coordinator of ESL and Speech Programs
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Email: kay.mcclanahan@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6633
Office: Dial 105
Office Hours:
Areas: Speech, Linguistics, English as a Second Language
 
Black Line
   

ENGLISH FACULTY
   
Kathryn Allen, Lecturer, College Opportunity ProgramThis image denotes persons having gone through Safe Zone Education.
M.A., East Carolina University
Email: kathryn.allen@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6492
Office: DF Lowry 125
Office Hours: Mon/Wed/Fri 10:00 - 12:00 and 2:30 - 3:00; Tues/Thurs 9:00 - 10:30 and 1:00 - 1:30
Areas: Composition theory, mythology, science fiction/fantasy writing, and popular culture
   
Mike Berntsen, Lecturer and Advisor to the Secular Student AllianceThis image denotes persons having gone through Safe Zone Education.
Ph.D., University of Louisiana, Lafayette
Email: michael.berntsen@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4370
Office: Dial 133
Office Hours: Mon/Wed/Fri 11:30 - 1:00; Mon/Wed 2:30 - 3:30
Areas: English & Spanish Renaissance, Theatre History, Composition, Creative Writing, and Pop Culture Studies
   
M. J. Braun M. J. Braun, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Arizona
Email: mary.braun@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6814
Office: Dial 114A
Office Hours:
Areas: History of Rhetoric, Rhetoric and Political Economy, Public and Disciplinary Discourse, Composition and Critical Pedagogy
   
Nancy Britt

Nancy Britt, Part-time Lecturer
M.Ed., North Carolina Central University
Email: nancy.britt@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6246
Office Hours: By appointment
Areas: Speech

   
Monika Brown, Professor
Ph.D., Duke University
Email: monika.brown@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6257
Office: Dial 110
Office Hours: Mon 10:00 - 11:00 and 2:30 - 3:30; Wed 12:15 - 1:15; Thurs 12:30 - 1:30; Fri 12:15 - 1:15 
Areas: British Novel, World Literature, Victorian Studies, Literature in Music and Film, Composition & English Education
Home Page
Profile
   

Mark Canada, Professor and Dean of Arts and Sciences
Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Email: mark.canada@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6431
Office: Hickory Hall
Office Hours: Mon/Wed/Fri 8:00 - 10:00; Tues/Thurs 9:30 - 10:00
Areas: American Literature and English Language
Home Page
Profile

   
Susan Cannata Susan Cannata, Professor
Ph.D., University of New Mexico
Email: susan.cannata@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6806
Office: Dial 117
Office Hours: Tues/Thurs 10:00 - 11:00 and 3:30 - 4:30; Wed 1:00 - 2:00
Areas: Victorian Literature and The Novel
   

Youngsuk Chae, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University
Email: youngsuk.chae@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4290
Office: Dial 119
Office Hours:
Areas: Postcolonial Literature, World Literature, Asian American Literature

   
Polina Chemishanova, Assistant Professor and Director of Composition
Ph.D., New Mexico State University
Email: polina.chemishanova@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4256
Office: Dial 239A
Office Hours:
Areas: Writing in the Disciplines, Professional Writing, WPA, Writing Program Assessment, Composition, Literacy Studies
   

Teagan Decker, Associate Professor and Director of the University Writing Center This image denotes persons having gone through Safe Zone Education.
Ph.D., University of Washington
Email: teagan.decker@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6437
Office: Lowry 313
Office Hours: Tues/Thurs 2:00 - 4:00; Wed 12:00 - 1:00
Areas: Composition, Rhetoric, Language
Profile

   
Michael Fairley

Michael Fairley, Part-time Lecturer
Email: michael.fairley@uncp.edu
          michaelf@richmond.cc.nc.us
M.A., North Carolina A & T University
Phone: 910.521.6246
Office Hours: By appointment
Areas:
English, African American Literature, Communications

   
Michele Fazio

Michele Fazio, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., SUNY-Stony Brook
Email: michele.fazio@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4371
Office: Dial 113
Office Hours:
Mon 4:00 - 6:00; Tues 12:30 - 1:30; Thurs 9:00 - 11:00
Areas: Twentieth-Century and Contemporary American Literature, Multi-Ethnic Literature, Working-Class Studies, Service-Learning Faculty Fellow

   

Denise Feikema, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Connecticut
Email: denise.feikema@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4362
Office: Dial 118
Office Hours:
Areas: English Education, Multiethnic Literature, Twentieth-Century American Literature, Women's Literature

   
Jane Gane

Jan Gane, Lecturer
M.A., University of North Carolina at Pembroke
Email: jan.gane@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.522.5753
Office: Dial 250
Office Hours: Tues/Thurs 10:45 - 12:30; Wed 7:30 - 9:00
Area: Composition

   
Anita Guynn Anita R. Guynn, Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of South Carolina
Email: anita.guynn@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6880
Office: Dial 260C
Office Hours:
Mon 1:00 - 4:00; Wed 1:00 - 3:00
Areas: Composition, Developmental Writing, Writing Across the Curriculum, Assessment, Service-Learning Faculty Fellow
   
Steven Hedgpeth, Lecturer
M.A., University of North Carolina at Pembroke
Email: steven.hedgpeth@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6784
Office: Dial 151
Office Hours: Mon/Wed/Fri 10:00 - 11:00 and 12:05 - 12:35; Mon/Wed 3:45 - 4:00
Areas: Composition and Literature
   
Thomas Heffernan, Lecturer
Ph.D., Sophia University (Tokyo, Japan)
Email: thomas.heffernan@uncp.edu
Phone:
910.775.4239
Office: Dial 139
Office Hours:
Areas: Modernism, Early 20th Century American/British Literature, Early 17th Century Studies, Composition, Creative Writing
   
Jim Helgeson Jim Helgeson, Lecturer
Ph.D., Indiana University
Email: jim.helgeson@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6487
Office: Dial 138C
Office Hours:
Areas: Literary Theory, History of the Novel
   
Karen Helgeson Karen Helgeson, Professor and Faculty Advisor, Student Publication, The Aurochs
M.F.A., University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Email: karen.helgeson@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6436
Office: Dial 107
Office Hours:
Areas: Modernism, Creative Writing, and Contemporary Literature
   

Scott Hicks, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
Email: scott.hicks@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4032
Office: Dial 115
Office Hours: Tues/Thurs 9:30 - 11:00; Tues 2:00 - 4:00 (in Wellons Hall, Suite N3)
Areas: African American Literature, Twentieth-Century American Literature, Environmental Literature
Home Page
Profile

   
Eun Hee Jeon

Eun Hee Jeon, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Northern Arizona University
Email: eunhee.jeon@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6842
Office: Dial 260B
Office Hours: Mon 3:45 - 6:30; Tues 1:45 - 3:00; Wed 1:30 - 2:30
Areas: Applied Linguistics, TESOL, Second Language Reading, Sociolinguistics, and Pragmatics

   
Deana Johnson

Deana C. Johnson, Lecturer and Director of College Opportunity Program
M.A., University of North Carolina at Pembroke
Email: deana.johnson@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6470
Office: D. F. Lowry 126
Office Hours: Mon 1:00 - 2:00; Tues/Thurs 11:00 - 1:00; Wed 9:00 - 10:00; Fri 9:00 - 10:00 and 11:00 - 12:00
Area: First Year Transitions

   
Brigitte Knight

Brigitte Knight, Lecturer
M.A., University of North Carolina at Pembroke
Email:
brigitte.knight@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6484
Office: Dial 138B
Office Hours: Mon/Wed 1:30 - 3:30; Fri 1:30 - 2:30
Area: Composition

   
Roger A. Ladd, Associate Professor and Director of the Graduate Program in English Education
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin at Madison
Email: roger.ladd@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6624
Office: Dial 121
Office Hours:
Mon/Wed/Fri 12:15 - 1:15
Areas: Medieval Studies, British Literature, and Composition
Profile
   
Ron Layne

Ron Layne, Part-time Lecturer
M.A., Winthrop University
Email: ronald.layne@uncp.edu, layner@sandhills.edu
Phone: 910.521.6246
Office Hours: By appointment
Areas: Speech

   
Walter Lewallen, Lecturer
Ph.D., University of South Florida
Email: walter.lewallen@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4154
Office: Dial 151
Office Hours: Mon/Wed 4:00 - 5:00; Tues 5:00 - 6:00; Tues/Thurs 2:00 - 3:00
Areas: Twentieth-Century British & American Literature, Literary Theory
   
David Marquard

David Marquard, Assistant Professor; Web Information Coordinator
Ph.D., University of Nevada, Reno
Email: david.marquard@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6429
Office: Wellons Hall, Suite G and Dial 138A
Office Hours: Mon/Wed 11:00 - 12:00; Tuesday/Thursday 10:45 - 12:15
Areas: Critical Literacy and Sociolinguistics, Basic Writing, and Writing Program Assessment
Web Site

   
Dennis McGlothin, Lecturer
M.A., University of Dayton
Email: dennis.mcglothin@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6430
Office: Dial 239C
Office Hours: Mon/Wed/Fri 1:30 - 3:00; Tues 12:00 - 2:00
Areas: Composition Studies and American Drama
   

Cynthia Miecznikowski, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University
Email:
cynthia.miecznikowski@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.522.5749
Office: Dial 249
Office Hours:
Areas: Rhetorical History, Theory, Pedagogy, and Practice; Writing and the Essay

   
Wendy Pearce Miller, Assistant Professor and Assistant Chair
Ph.D., University of Mississippi
Email:
wendy.miller@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6886
Office: Dial 120
Office Hours: Mon/Wed/Fri 10:00 - 11:00 and 12:15 - 1:15; Tuesday/Thursday 11:00 - 12:00
Areas: American Literature, Southern Literature
   

Frank B. Myers, Jr., Lecturer
M.A., University of North Carolina at Pembroke
Email: frank.myers@uncp.edu
Phone:
910.522.5798
Office: Dial 111t
Office Hours: Mon/Wed/Fri 11:15 - 12:15; Tues/Thurs 12:15 - 1:15
Areas: Literature and Composition

   
Sara Oswald Sara Oswald, Senior Lecturer and Yearbook Advisor
M.A., Rutgers University
Email: sara.oswald@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6566
Office: Dial 112
Office Hours: Mon/Wed/Fri 1:30 - 2:30; Tues/Thurs 12:30 - 1:30
Areas: British Literature, Composition, Publication Editing and Design
   
Cahterine Parisian

Catherine Parisian, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Virginia
Email:
catherine.parisian@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4291
Office: Dial 116
Office Hours:
Areas: Eighteenth-Century British Literature, The Novel, Book History
Profile

   
Jesse Peters Jesse Peters, Professor This image denotes persons having gone through Safe Zone Education.
Ph.D., University of New Mexico
Email: jesse.peters@uncp.edu
Phone:
910.521.6635
Office: Dial 260A
Office Hours: Tues/Thurs 3:00 - 5:00; Wed 2:00 - 3:00; Mon/Wed 8:00 - 9:00 (Online)
Areas: Native American Literature, Modernism, Language and Rhetoric, Creative Writing
Home Page
   

Jessica Pitchford, Assistant Professor and Editor of Pembroke Magazine
M.F.A., McNeese State University
Ph.D., Florida State University
Email:
jessica.pitchford@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6433
Office: Dial 102
Office Hours: Tues/Thurs 2:00 - 3:30; Wed 3:30 - 5:30
Areas: Creative Writing

   
Christie Poteet Christie Poteet, Part-time Lecturer and Director of Service-LearningThis image denotes persons having gone through Safe Zone Education.
M.A., University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Email: christina.poteet@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4296
Office:
Jacobs Hall, Suite K
Office Hours: By appointment
Areas: Speech
   
Therese Rizzo

Therese Rizzo, Assistant Professor This image denotes persons having gone through Safe Zone Education.
Ph.D., University of Delaware
Email: therese.rizzo@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.522.5802
Office: Dial 108
Office Hours: Mon/Wed 3:30 - 5:00; Tues/Thurs 3:30 - 4:30
Areas: American Literature, African American Literature, Women’s Literature

   
Melissa Schaub

Melissa Schaub, Associate Professor and Associate Vice Chancellor for Enrollment This image denotes persons having gone through Safe Zone Education.
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin at Madison
Email: melissa.schaub@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.522.5794
Office: Lowry 322
Office Hours: Tues/Thurs 8:30 - 9:30
Areas: Nineteenth-Century British Literature, Women's Literature
Profile

   
Dennis Sigmon Dennis Sigmon, Professor
Ph.D., Purdue University
Email: dennis.sigmon@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6312
Office: Dial 239B
Office Hours: Mon 1:25 - 2:25; Tues/Thurs 12:20 - 1:50; Wed 4:00 - 5:00
Areas: English Literature and Languages
   

Robin L. Snead, Lecturer, College Opportunity Program
Ph.D., North Carolina State University
Email: robin.snead@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6469
Office: D. F. Lowry 127
Office Hours: Mon/Wed 11:30 - 12:30; Tues 1:00 - 2:00; Fri 10:00 - 12:00
Areas:
Composition, Multimodality, Digital Literacies, and Pedagogy

   
Charles Tita Charles Tita, Associate Professor and Director of Distance Education
Ph.D., Howard University
Email: charles.tita@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6352
Office: Distance Education, West Office Building
Office Hours: Mon 4:00 - 6:00; Tues/Thurs 10:30 - 12:00
Areas: Eighteenth-Century British Literature, African American Literature, Critical Theory
   
Richard Vela Richard R. Vela, Professor
Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Email: richard.vela@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6600
Office: Dial 121A
Office Hours:
Areas: Shakespeare, Film, Contemporary and Latino Literature
   

THEATRE FACULTY

   
Holden Hansen Holden G. Hansen, Professor
M.F.A., University of Texas at Austin
Email: holden.hansen@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6774
Office: Givens Performing Arts Center, 2nd Floor
Office Hours: Tues/Thurs 12:30 - 1:30; Mon/Wed or Fri 12:00 - 3:00 (Variable: by week for now. Email toi check)
Areas: Acting, Directing
   
Chet Jordan, Professor and Coordinator of Theatre
Ph.D., Bowling Green State University
Email: chet.jordan@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6289
Office: Givens Performing Arts Center 311
Office Hours: Mon/Tues/Wed/Thurs 12:20 - 2:00
Areas: Theatre and Speech
Profile
   
Holly Payne, Lecturer and Costume Shop Manager
M.F.A., University of Arkansas
Email: holly.payne@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.6857
Office: Dial 151
Office Hours:
Areas: Costuming


   
Natalie Smith

Natalie Smith, Lecturer and Choreographer
M.F.A., Academy of Art University
Email: natalie.smith@uncp.edu
Phone:
910.521.6754
Office: Givens Performing Arts Center, 2nd floor; Jones 1180
Office Hours:
Areas: Costuming and Choreography

   
Gary Tremblay

Gary Tremblay, Lecturer and Technical Director, Givens Performing Arts Center
M.F.A., Carnegie Mellon University
Email: gary.tremblay@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6288
Office Hours: By appointment
Office: Givens Performing Arts Center

   
David Underwood, Senior Lecturer and Designer/Production Manager, Givens Performing Art Center
M.F.A., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Email: david.underwood@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6408
Office: Givens Performing Arts Center 310
Office Hours: NA: Paternity Leave (can be contacted by email
Area: Theater Technology
Profile
   

FOREIGN LANGUAGES FACULTY
   

Raquel Alfaro, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh
Email: raquel.alfaro@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4033
Office: Dial 246
Office Hours:
Areas: Spanish

   

Katherine Denton, Lecturer and LASO Advisor
M.A., University of North Carolina at Wilmington
Email: katherine.denton@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6432
Office: Dial 245
Office Hours: Mon 12:00 - 3:00; Tues/Thurs 12:30 - 1:30
Areas: Spanish Language, Conversation, and Composition

   
 

Peter Imoro, Adjunct Instructor
Ph.D., University of Alberta, Canada
Email: peter.imoro@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6434
Office: Dial 244
Office Hours: Tues/Thurs 1:00 - 2:00
Areas: Spanish

   

Ana Cecilia Lara, Instructor, Coordinator of Foreign Languages and Spanish Teacher Licensure
M.A., Middlebury College
Email: cecilia.lara@uncp.edu
Phone:
910.521.6359
Office: Dial 243
Office Hours:
Areas: Spanish
Profile

   

Yuanyuan Lin, Part-time Lecturer
M.A., Rutgers University (in progress)
Email: yuanyuan.lin@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6435
Office: 244 Dial
Office Hours: By appointment
Areas: Chinese

   
Manuel Modesto, Lecturer
M.A., University of Memphis
Email: manuel.modesto@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4416
Office: Dial 248
Office Hours: Mon/Wed/Fri 1:10 - 2:10; Thurs 9:00 - 11:00
Areas: Spanish
   
Lucian Nerwinski, Part-time Lecturer
Ph.D., Duke University
Email: lucian.nerwinski@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6435
Office: Dial 244
Office Hours: By appointment
Areas: Latin
   
Enrique Porrúa, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Texas Tech University
Email: enrique.porrua@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6428
Office: Dial 247
Office Hours: Mon/Wed/Fri 9:00 - 10:10; Tues/Thurs 9:00 - 9:30 and 10:45 - 11:15
Areas: Spanish
Profile
   
Marion Thompson, Part-time Lecturer
M.A., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Email: marion.thompson@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6435
Office: Dial 244
Office Hours: By appointment
Areas: French

STAFF
 
   
Tina Emanuel Tina P. Emanuel, Technology Support Technician, Director of ET Resource Center, Web Information Coordinator
Email: tina.emanuel@uncp.edu
Phone:
910.521.6358
Office: Dial 141
   
 

 

Nicole Ford, Administrative Support Associate
Email: nicole.ford@uncp.edu
Phone:
910.521.6246
Office: Dial 131

 

 

This image denotes persons having gone through Safe Zone Education.This image denotes persons having gone through Safe Zone Education.This image denotes persons having gone through Safe Zone Education. This image denotes persons having gone through Safe Zone Education.

Updated: Tuesday, January 21, 2014

 
Loading

The University of North Carolina at Pembroke
PO Box 1510 Pembroke, NC 28372-1510 • 910.521.6000

 

This image denotes persons having gone through Safe Zone Education.