Caldecott Medal Winners, 1938 Present


2006:  The Hello, Goodbye Window by Norton Juster

2005:  Kitten's First Full Moon by Kevin Henkes

2004: The Man Who Walked Between the Towersby Mordicai Gerstein

2003: My Friend Rabbitby Eric Rohmann

2002: The Three Pigs by David Wiesner

2001: So You Want to Be President? by Judith St. George

2000: Joseph Had a Little Overcoat by Simms Taback

1999: Snowflake Bentley, by Jacqueline Briggs Martin

1998: Rapunzel by Paul O. Zelinsky

1997: Golem by David Wisniewski

1996: Officer Buckle and Gloria by Peggy Rathmann

1995: Smoky Night by Eve Bunting

1994: Grandfather's Journey by Allen Say

1993: Mirette on the High Wire by Emily Arnold McCully

1992: Tuesday by David Wiesner

1991: Black and White by David Macaulay

1990: Lon Po Po: A Red-Riding Hood Story from China by Ed Young

1989: Song and Dance Man by Karen Ackerman

1988: Owl Moon by Jane Yolen

1987: Hey, Al by Arthur Yorinks

1986: The Polar Express by Chris Van Allsburg

1985: Saint George and the Dragon by Margaret Hodges

1984: The Glorious Flight: Across the Channel with Louis Bleriot by Alice & Martin Provensen

1983: Shadow by Blaise Cendrars

1982: Jumanji by Chris Van Allsburg

1981: Fables by Arnold Lobel

1980: Ox-Cart Man by Donald Hall

1979: The Girl Who Loved Wild Horses by Paul Goble

1978: Noah's Ark by Peter Spier

1977: Ashanti to Zulu: African Traditions by Margaret Musgrove

1976: Why Mosquitoes Buzz in People's Ears by Verna Aardema

1975: Arrow to the Sun by Gerald McDermott

1974: Duffy and the Devil by Harve Zemach

1973: The Funny Little Woman by Arlene Mosel

1972: One Fine Day by Nonny Hogrogian

1971: A Story A Story by Gail E. Haley

1970: Sylvester and the Magic Pebble by William Steig

1969: The Fool of the World and the Flying Ship by Arthur Ransome

1968: Drummer Hoff by Barbara Emberley

1967: Sam, Bangs & Moonshine by Evaline Ness

1966: Always Room for One More by Sorche Nic Leodhas

1965: May I Bring a Friend? by Beatrice Schenk de Regniers

1964: Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak

1963: The Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats

1962: Once a Mouse by Marcia Brown

1961: Baboushka and the Three Kings by Ruth Robbins

1960: Nine Days to Christmas by Marie Hall Ets and Aurora Labastida

1959: Chanticleer and the Fox by Barbara Cooney

1958: Time of Wonder by Robert McCloskey

1957: A Tree Is Nice by Janice Udry

1956: Frog Went A-Courtin' by John Langstaff

1955: Cinderella, or the Little Glass Slipper by Marcia Brown

1954: Madeline's Rescue by Ludwig Bemelmans

1953: The Biggest Bear by Lynd Ward

1952: Finders Keepers by Will, pseud. [William Lipkind]

1951: The Egg Tree by Katherine Milhous

1950: Song of the Swallows by Leo Politi

1949: The Big Snow by Berta & Elmer Hader

1948: White Snow, Bright Snow by Alvin Tresselt

1947: The Little Island by Golden MacDonald, pseud. [Margaret Wise Brown]

1946: The Rooster Crows by Maude & Miska Petersham

1945: Prayer for a Child by Rachel Field

1944: Many Moons by James Thurber

1943: The Little House by Virginia Lee Burton

1942: Make Way for Ducklings by Robert McCloskey

1941: They Were Strong and Good, by Robert Lawson

1940: Abraham Lincoln by Ingri & Edgar Parin d'Aulaire

1939: Mei Li by Thomas Handforth

1938: Animals of the Bible, A Picture Book by Helen Dean Fish