The University of North Carolina at Pembroke
University Newswire
University Newswire
PO Box 1510
Pembroke, NC 28372-1510
Date: March 21, 2002
Contact: Scott Bigelow
Email: scott.bigelow@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6351
Fax: 910.521.6694

Quality, Participation High at UNCP Science Fair

Overall Winner, Elizabeth LocklearIf the entries into the 2002 Region IV Science Fair are any indication, the quality of science instruction in the region is on the rise, said Dr. Jose D'Arruda, Science Fair coordinator and chair of UNC Pembroke's Chemistry and Physics Department.

Dr. D'Arruda should know because he has directed the program for all of its 22 years.

"We had more entries and higher quality entries this year," Dr. D'Arruda said. "I am pleasantly pleased, especially with the growing number of entries in the technology and applied science areas."

Some of the 500 entries included hovercrafts and one named, "Robo Scarecrow: Can Robotics Keep Deer Out of the Garden?" Other entries ranged from testing ice cream, to the speed of snails, to the effects of alcohol on unborn children."

The overall winner was Elizabeth Locklear, an 11th grader from Red Springs High School. She was showered with gifts from Fisher Scientific Co. and one year of tuition at UNC Pembroke.

"I am not sure about studying science, but I believe I will use the tuition," Ms. Locklear said.

Her project, comparing solid air particles in five Robeson County municipalities, was developed from a similar project that won second place last year. Her reaction, "Shocked!"

She is the daughter of Michael and Wanda Locklear of Rennert.

The 2002 Region IV Science Fair was dedicated to the late Don Averitte, a science teacher at Flora McDonald Academy, whose students participated in the first contest and entered many more afterwards.

Here are the results:

Elementary (eight first place winners/all go to the state competition)

1st Place:
Ian Helfrich, home school
Caroline Womble, Boone Trail Elementary School
Brooke Strouth, South Harnett
Austin Collins, Cape Fear Christian Academy
Elizabeth Tew, Cape Fear Christian
Holly McNeill, Star-Bisco
Graham Burney, Booker T. Washington
Heather Bartley, Elizabethtown Primary

Honorable Mention:
Keller Hopkins, Chip Lewis, MaCrae Vallery, Vanstory Elementary
Andrew Niccum, Honeycutt
Jackson Ferrell, Long Hill
Kathleen Wood, Flora McDonald Academy
Tierra Wall, Rockfish
Ross Masters, Southeastern Academy
Brooke Hunter, Westcare Christian Academy
McKenzie Matthews, Angier
Meredith McBride, Hoffman
Billie Clark, Mt. Gilead

Middle School (1st and 2nd place go to state)

Applied Science:
1. Ross Clark, Max Abbott Middle School
2. Sara Hester, Spaulding Monroe
3. Joseph Chochran, St. Ann Catholic School
3. Zosia Bober, Max Abbott

Physical Science:
1. Travis Wilson, Flora McDonald Academy
2. Ty Schrader, Erwin Middle School
3. Scott Bennett, Spring Hill
4. Kaitlin Niccum, John Griffin

1. Jennifer Davis, West Hoke Middle School
2. Erin Barfield, Sycamore Lane
3. Caroline Sexton, Spring Hill

Earth Science:
1. Brittany Denton, Dunn Middle School
2. Wesley Johnson, Dunn
3. Paul Coppala, Northwood Temple Academy
4. Kelly McKee, Max Abbott

High School

Physical Science:
1. Julie Price, Northwood Temple Academy
2. Candace Lowry, Purnell Swett High School
3. Eban lee, Fayetteville Academy
4. Heather Lewis, Northwood Temple

Earth Science:
1. Elizabeth Dawn Locklear, Red Springs High School
2. Matthew Dial, Purnell Swett
3. Katie Thomas, Fayetteville Academy
4. Roseanne Jones, Fayetteville Academy

1. Katherine Williams, Fayetteville Academy
2. Harper Hornaday, Fayetteville Academy
3. Justin Deese, Purnell Swett High School
4. Zack Ward, St. Pauls

Applied Science and Technology:
1. Evelyn Greene, Fayetteville Academy
2. Adam Boles, North Moore High School
3. Blair Garrison, Fayetteville Academy
4. David Settle, East Columbus

Return to University Newswire

Black Line
Black Line
The University of North Carolina at Pembroke Updated: Thursday, March 21, 2002
Copyright © 2001-2002 The University of North Carolina at Pembroke
University Newswire
PO Box 1510
Pembroke, NC 28372-1510
Phone: 910.521.6351
Fax: 910.521.6694
Email: scott.bigelow@uncp.edu