Skip to Quicklinks
Skip to Quicklinks
Contact Information

Elementary Education
Phone: 910.521.6221

Professional Pedagogy and Research
Phone: 910.521.6221

Educational Specialties
Phone: 910.521.6283

School Administration and Counseling
Phone: 910.521.6283

Dean's Office
Phone: 910.521.6539
Fax: 910.521.6165

School of Education

PO Box 1510 Pembroke, NC 28372

Education Building
Campus Map

 


faculty and staff

Zoe Locklear


Dr. Zoe Locklear, Dean
School of Education
Office: Education Center, Room 118
Phone: 910.775.4041

Email: zoe.locklear@uncp.edu

   
Alfred Bryant, Jr.

Dr. Alfred Bryant, Jr., Associate Dean, School of Education

Professor, Department of School Administration and Counseling
Office: Education Center, Room 112
Phone: 910.775-4009
Email: alfred.bryant@uncp.edu

   
Karen Stanley Dr. Karen L. Stanley, Associate Professor

Chair, Department of Elementary Education
Office: Education Center, Room 215B
Phone: 910.521.6528
Email: karen.stanley@uncp.edu

   
Valjeaner Ford

Dr. Valjeaner Ford, Associate Professor /
PRAXIS Liaison / Interim Chair
Department of Professional Pedagogy and Research
Office: Education Center, Room 101-G
Phone: 910.521.6893
Email: valjeaner.ford@uncp.edu

   
Tommy Thompson Dr. Tommy Thompson, Professor
Chair, Department of Health, Physical Education, and Recreation
Office: Jones Health and PE Center, Room 3
Phone: 910.521.6385
Email: tommy.thompson@uncp.edu
   
Irene Aiken

Dr. Irene P. Aiken, Professor,

Department of Elementary Education  

Associate Dean of Graduate Studies
Office: Lumbee Hall, Room 256
Phone: 910.521.6271 
Email: irene.aiken@uncp.edu

   
Rebecca Berdeau, Lecturer

Coordinator NC TEACH II
Office: Education Center, Room 208
Phone: 910.521.6779 
Email: rebecca.berdeau@uncp.edu

   
Jeff Bolles

Dr. Jeff Bolles, Assistant Professor

Department of Health, Physical Education, and Recreation
Phone: 910.522.5728
Office: Jones 1190

Email: jeff.bolles@uncp.edu

   
Dorea Bonneau

Dr. Dorea Bonneau, Assistant Professor
Department of Educational Specialties
Office: Education Center, Room 136
Phone: 910.775.4077
Email: dorea.bonneau@uncp.edu

   
Courtney Sampson Brayboy Courtney Sampson Brayboy, Executive Assistant

Office: Education Center, Room 117
Phone: 910.521.6539
Email: courtney.brayboy@uncp.edu

   
Betty Wells Brown

Dr. Betty Wells Brown, Professor

Department of Educational Specialties

Office: Education Center, Room 315
Phone: 910.521.6856
Email: betty.brown@uncp.edu

   
Nicky Bullard, Administrative Support Associate
Office: Education Center, Room 102
Phone: 910.521.6379
Email: nicky.bullard@uncp.edu
   

Dr. Ki Byung Chae, Assistant Professor
Department of School Administration and Counseling
Office: Education Center, Room 344
Phone: 910.521.6753
Email: kibyung.chae@uncp.edu

   
Melody Chuang Dr. Melody Chuang, Assistant Professor
Department of Educational Specialties
Office: Education Center, Room 134
Phone:  910.775.4087
Email:  chiuchu.chuang@uncp.edu
   
Audria Cummings, Administrative Support Associate
Office: Education Center, Room 111
Phone: 910.521.6221
Email: audria.cummings@uncp.edu
   
Danny R. Davis

Dr. Danny R. Davis, Associate Professor
Department of Health, Physical Education, and Recreation
Phone: 910.521.6498
Office: Jones 1188

Email: danny.davis@uncp.edu

   
Susan Edkins

Susan Edkins, Athletic Training Coordinator
Department of Health, Physical Education, and Recreation
Email: susan.edkins@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6480
Office: Jones 1227

   
Irina Paraschiv Dr. Irina Falls, Associate Professor
Department of Educational Specialties
Office: Education Center, Room 334A
Phone: 910.775.4386
Email: irina.falls@uncp.edu
   
Kelly Ficklin Kelly Ficklin, Instructor
Coordinator, UG Elementary Education
Department of Elementary Education

Office: Education Center, Room 318
Phone: 910.775.4037
Email: kelly.ficklin@uncp.edu
   
Leah Fiorentino Dr. Leah Fiorentino, Professor

Department of Professional Pedagogy and Research
Office: Education Center, Room 317
Email: leah.fiorentino@uncp.edu

   
Karen Granger

Karen Granger, Director, Teaching Fellows/
Coordinator, AIG Program

Office: Education Center, Room 135
Phone: 910.521.6448
Email: karen.granger@uncp.edu

   
Patrick Hannigan

Dr. Patrick A. Hannigan, Assistant Professor

Department of Professional Pedagogy and Research
Office: Education Center, Room 133
Phone: 910.521.6354
Email: patrick.hannigan@uncp.edu

   
Heather Higgins Dr. Heather Higgins, Assistant Professor
Department of Professional Pedagogy and Research

Phone: 910.521.6663
Email: heather.higgins@uncp.edu

   
Carol Higy Dr. Carol Higy, Associate Professor

School of Education
Office: Education Center, Room 345
Phone: 910.521.6449
Email: carol.higy@uncp.edu

   
Hope

Dr. Ashley Hope, Assistant Professor

Department of Elementary Education
Office: Education Center, Room 330
Phone: 910.775.4413
Email: ashley.hope@uncp.edu

 

   
Loria Huggins Loria Huggins, Administrative Support Associate

Office:  Education Center, Room 111
Phone:  910.521.6495
Email:  loria.huggins@uncp.edu

   
Charles Jenkins Dr. Charles Jenkins, Professor
Department of School Administration and Counseling
Office: Education Center, Room 116
Phone: 910.521.6323
Email: charles.jenkins@uncp.edu
   

Beverly Justice, Athletic Training Clinical Coordinator
Office: Jones 1225
Email: beverly.justice@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6273

   
Mary Klinikowski Mary Klinikowski, Lecturer

Director of Assessment
Office: Education Center, Room 112
Phone: 910.521.6417
Email: mary.klinikowski@uncp.edu

   
Patricia Lewis Patricia Lewis, Administrative Support Associate
Office: Education Center, Room 102
Phone: 910.521.6283
Email:  patricia.lewis@uncp.edu
   
Michelle Locklear Michelle Locklear, Administrative Support Associate
Office: Education Center, Room 101A
Phone: 910.521.6397

Email: michelle.locklear@uncp.edu

   
Emily Long

Dr. Emily Long, Professor
Department of Elementary Education
Office: Education Center, Room 344
Phone: 910.521.6451
Email: emily.long@uncp.edu

   
Larry Mabe Dr. Larry Mabe, Clinical Professor
Department of School Administration and Counseling
Office: Education Center, Room 306
Phone: 910.775.4293
Email: larry.mabe@uncp.edu
   
Gary Mauk

Dr. Gary Mauk, Assistant Professor
Department of Professional Pedagogy and Research
Office: Education Center, Room 314
Phone: 910.775.4295
Email: gary.mauk@uncp.edu

 

   
Angela Holman Dr. Angela McDonald, Assistant Professor

Department of School Administration and Counseling
Office: Education Center, Room 320
Phone: 910.521.6511
Email: angela.holman@uncp.edu

   
Willie McNeill Dr. Willie McNeill, Professor
Department of Professional Pedagogy and Research
Office: Education Center, Room 341
Phone: 910.521.6453
Email: willie.mcneill@uncp.edu
   
Lisa Mitchell Dr. Lisa Mitchell, Assistant Professor

Department of Elementary Education
Office: Education Center, Room 131
Phone: 910.775.4412
Email: lisa.mitchell@uncp.edu

   
Nuekie Aku Opata Nuekie Aku Opata, Licensure Officer
Office: Education Center, Room 101
Phone: 910.521.6879
Email: nuekie.opata@uncp.edu
   
Amy Oxendine, Administrative Support Associate
Office: Education Center, Room 102
Phone: 910.521.6752
Email: amy.oxendine@uncp.edu
   
David Oxendine Dr. David Oxendine, Associate Professor
Department of Professional Pedagogy and Research
Office: Education Center, Room 113
Phone: 910.521.6324
Email: david.oxendine@uncp.edu
   
Dr. Olivia Oxendine, Assistant Professor
Department of School Administration and Counseling
Office: Education Center, Room 313
Phone: 910.521.6894
Email: olivia.oxendine@uncp.edu
   
Frankie Denise Powell Dr. Frankie Denise Powell, Associate Professor
Department of Educational Specialties
Office: Education Center, Room 132
Phone: 910.775.4281
Email: frankie.powell@uncp.edu
   
Gretchen Robinson

Dr. Gretchen G. Robinson, Assistant Professor
Department of Educational Specialties
Office: Education Center, Room 338 B
Phone: 910.521.6452
Email: gretchen.robinson@uncp.edu

   
Mark S Dr. Mark Schwarze, Assistant Professor
Department of School Administration and Counseling
Office: Education Center, Room 312
Phone: 910.521.6898
Email: mark.schwarze@uncp.edu
   
Joe Sciulli Dr. Joe Sciulli, Assistant Professor
Department of Elementary Education
Office: Education Center, Room 101F
Phone:  910.521.6362
Email: joe.sciulli@uncp.edu
   
Coming Soon

Dr. Marisa Scott, Assistant Professor
Department of Educational Specialties
Coordinator, Special Education

Office: Education Center, Room 338A
Phone: 910.775.4422
Email: marisa.scott@uncp.edu

   
Denny Scruton

Dr. Denny Scruton, Assistant Professor

K12 Health / PE and Program Coordinator

K12 MAT Program Coordinator
Department of Health, Physical Education, and Recreation
Phone: 910.521.6342
Office: Jones 1191

Email: denny.scruton@uncp.edu

   
Dr. Heather Kimberly Dial Sellers, Associate Professor
Director, Graduate Reading Education
Office: Education Building, Room 311
Phone: 910.521.6636 
Email: heather.sellers@uncp.edu
   
SS

Dr. Sara Coble Simmons, Associate Professor
Department of Professional Pedagogy and Research
Office: Education Center, Room 324
Phone: 910-521-6629
Email: sara.simmons@uncp.edu

   
Laura Staal Dr. Laura Staal, Assistant Professor
Department of Educational Specialties
Office: Education Center, Room 338C
Phone: 910.775.4387
Email: laura.staal@uncp.edu
   
Glen Walter Dr. Glen Walter, Professor
Department of School Administration and Counseling
Office: Education Center, Room 115
Phone: 910.775.4280
Email: glen.walter@uncp.edu
   
Dr. Jeffrey Warren

Dr. Jeffrey Warren, Assistant Professor
Department of School Administration and Counseling
Office: Education Center, Room 319
Phone: 910.775.4414
Email:jeffrey.warren@uncp.edu

   
Donnie Weeks Dr. Donnie Weeks, Clinical Associate Professor
Department of School Administration and Counseling
Office: Education Center, Room 306
Phone: 910.775.4294
Email: donnie.weeks@uncp.edu
   
Bryan Winters Dr. Bryan Winters, Director, University School Programs
Office: Education Center, Room 102
Phone: 910.521.6321
Email: bryan.winters@uncp.edu
   
Marian Wooten Dr. Marian Wooten, Assistant Professor
Department of Health, Physical Education, and Recreation
Email: marian.wooten@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6347
Office: Jones 1189
   
COLLEGE OF aRTS AND sCIENCES
Affiliated FACULTY
   
Timothy M. Altman

Dr. Timothy M. Altman, DMA
Chair, Department of Music
Director of Bands/Trumpet
Phone: 910-521-6230
Email: tim.altman@uncp.edu

   
Mary Ash, Lecturer and Coordinator, Undergraduate Science Education
Email:mary.ash@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4369
Office: Oxendine 2243
Office Hours: MTWRF 12:00-1:00
   
Valerie Austin Dr. Valerie A. Austin, Assistant Professor
Director, Graduate Program in Music Education
Office: Moore Hall, Room 136
Phone: 910.522.5704
Email: valerie.austin@uncp.edu
   
Scott Billingsely Dr. Scott Billingsley, Associate Professor

Director, Graduate Program in Social Studies
Office: Dial Humanities Building, Room 235
Phone: 910.521.6807 
Email: scott.billingsley@uncp.edu

   
Virginia Jones

Denise Feikema, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Connecticut Phone: 910.775.4362
Office: Dial 118
Office Hours: Mon 3:20 - 4:00; Tues/Thurs 12:15 - 2:00 and 3:15 - 3:45
Areas: English Education, Multiethnic Literature, Twentieth-Century American Literature, Women's Literature
Email: denise.feikema@uncp.edu

   

Dr. Rita Hagevik, Assistant Professor of
Science Education, Director of Graduate
Programs in Science Education
Email: rita.hagevik@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6652
Office: Oxendine 2240
Office Hours: MTW 9:00-12:00

   
Roger Ladd Dr. Roger Ladd, Associate Professor
Director, Graduate English Education

Ofice: Dial Building, Room 121
Phone: 910.521.6624
Email: roger.ladd@uncp.edu

   
Raymond Lee Dr. Raymond Lee, Associate Professor
Director, Graduate Math Education

Ofice: Oxendine Building, Room 1229
Phone: 910.521.6309
Email: raymond.lee@uncp.edu

   
Tulla Lightfoot Dr. Tulla Lightfoot, Assistant Professor
Coordinator, Undergraduate Art

Office:  Locklear Hall Room 212
Phone:  910.522.5792
Email:  tulla.lightfoot@uncp.edu

   
Ann Horton-Lopez Dr. Ann Horton-Lopez, Associate Professor

Director, Graduate Art Education
Office: Locklear Hall, Room 211
Phone: 910.521.6407
Email: ann.lopez@uncp.edu

   
Jeff Lucas Dr. Jeff Lucas, Associate Professor

Coordinator, Undergraduate Social Studies Edn.
Office: Dial 207
Phone: 910.521.6441
Email: jeffrey.lucas@uncp.edu

   

 


Updated: Friday, January 10, 2014
 
 

© The University of North Carolina at Pembroke
PO Box 1510 Pembroke, NC 28372-1510 • 910.521.6000