Skip to Quicklinks
Skip to Quicklinks
Contact Information

Elementary Education

Professional Pedagogy and Research

Educational Specialties

School Administration and Counseling

Dean's Office

School of Education
PO Box 1510
Pembroke, NC 28372

Location: Education Building
Campus Map


Birth-Kindergarten Program

Advisory Council

An advisory council is a group of members (faculty, students, teachers, or administrators) who have been appointed by the specific Teacher Education Program to provide advice on current and future issues, directions and priorities of the Teacher Education Program.

The Advisory Council for the Birth-Kindergarten Program is as follows:

Full-time Faculty, UNCP:
Judith Losh, Frankie Denise Powell, Irina Paraschiv, Karen Stanley

Adjunct Faculty:
Melanie Carnes:  Director of Sandhills Children’s Center in Richmond County
Terrie Jordan:  Kindergarten Teacher, Montclair Elementary, Cumberland Co; Power of K Initiative Participant, DPI, Clinical Teacher for Internships
Margaret Locklear:  Hearing and Visually Impaired Coordinator, Regional
Kim Moser, Director of EDIS Program, Womack Army Medical Hospital (Assesses Children Birth-Five Years with Disabilities)
Diana Pierce, Pre-K Teacher, Montclair Elementary, Cumberland County, Clinical Teacher for Internships
Patricia Price:  Service Agency Counseling Graduate, UNCP; stay-at-home Mom now
Marissa Scott Roach:  ABD, UNC-Greensboro; Early Childhood Special Education
Courtney Walters:  Clinical Psychologist, Health First Medical Center, Moore County

Students and Graduates:
Gracie Breeden, Kindergarten Teacher at Upchurch Elementary, Hoke County (graduate)
Ciji Brooks, Pre-Kindergarten Teacher at Southside Ashpole, Robeson County (graduate)
Jennifer Plummer, current student (traditional)
Linda Vandevender, current student intern (non-traditional and online cohort)
Janice Wright,   Program Manager of Early Head Start, Cumberland County (graduate) 

School Administrators:
Betty Brum, Principal, Upchurch Elementary School, Hoke County
Tona Jacobs, Principal, Pembroke Elementary School, Robeson County



Updated: February 10, 2009


© The University of North Carolina at Pembroke
PO Box 1510 Pembroke, NC 28372-1510 • 910.521.6000